Endz

knitting, eating (well, cooking first… mostly vegetarian), bodywork, menopause and general recreating

Knitting Patterns September 25, 2008

Filed under: knitting — lynne @ 2:31 am

So I’ve been thinking a lot lately about designing patterns. I know most knitters do, and since I do have a degree in Crafts, it doesn’t seem like such a crazy idea. But I do notice that many (perhaps too many) patterns are for garments that are so complex as to seem close to unwearable. Kind of like haute couture- yeah, we can do this with fabric- wanna try wearing it?? When looking at some knitting patterns I have often thought to myself “just because you can do that with knitting doesn’t mean you should”.**

I passed this comment on to another knitter, and she found it amusing and seemed to agree, so I thought it was time to out myself as a lover of the simple. If I spend the time to knit a garment, it has to be something I’m going to want to wear. A lot. Heck, I want to be seen in the fruits of my labor! Maybe even get a complement or two, ya know? My knitter friend’s response has helped me realize that a simple pattern is not a bad thing, and that gives me courage to try. So if anyone is out there… stay tuned! There may be opportunities for test knitters in the future of this little blog.

** I love this turn of phrase- if you do too, and want to use it, please give credit where credit is due. Thanks,

~Lynne

 

Leave a Reply

